

DR 0440 (09/20/19)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO Box 17087
Denver CO 80217-0087

Attn: Local Government Support, Rm 208

## **Lessor Registration for Sales Tax Collection**

Any lessor that will be collecting state and state-administered sales tax in Colorado must apply for and maintain an active sales tax license and file a completed Lessor Registration for Sales Tax Collection (DR 0440). The lessor must submit with their completed DR 0440 an attachment listing the location/jurisdiction codes for each jurisdiction for which the lessor will be collecting sales tax. See Location/Jurisdiction Codes for Sales Tax Filing (DR 0800), available online at Colorado.gov/tax, for a complete list of location/jurisdiction codes.

By filing this form the lessor affirms and acknowledges the lessor's liability to collect state and state-administered sales taxes, to file periodic returns to report the correct amount of tax, and to remit all taxes with the filing of such returns. This form must be signed by an officer or representative duly authorized to act on the lessor's behalf.

## Additional resources

For additional information, see *Colorado.gov/Tax* and Department publications *Sales & Use Tax Topics: Leases* and *Sales & Use Tax Topics: Motor Vehicles.* 

## Leases of 36 months or less

Any lessor who leases tangible personal property for terms of 36 months or less must pay sales and/or use taxes. as applicable, on the full purchase price the lessor paid for the acquisition of the property, unless the lessor has received permission from the Department to collect all applicable state and state-administered local sales taxes on all payments made by the lessee pursuant to the lease. Any lessor filing this form must check the applicable boxes below to indicate whether the lessor will enter into lease agreements for terms of 36 months or less and, if so, whether the lessor is requesting permission to collect all state and state-administered sales taxes on such leases. The permission to collect sales tax on lease payments, if granted by the Department, obligates the lessor to collect sales tax on all leases made by the lessor for terms of 36 months or less.

Lessor's Last Name	First Name Middl		Middle Initial
Lessor's Trade Name, if applicable		Phone	Number
Business Address	County		
City		State	Zip
Mailing Address	County	1	<u> </u>
City		State	Zip
Colorado Tax Account Number (XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX	Location/Jurisdiction Code		
Leases of 36 months or less:	Tax on property leased for terms of 36 months or less, if applicable:		
The lessor will lease property for terms of 36 months or less	The lessor requests permission to collect sales tax on lease payments		
The lessor will not lease property for terms of 36 months or less	The lessor will pay all applicable sales and use taxes on the lessor's acquisition of leased property		
Officer or Representative Duly Aut	horized to Act on Behalf of	Lesso	r
Name of Officer or Representative			
Signature of Officer or Representative			Date (MM/DD/YY)
Do not write in the space below - for departmental use only			
Motor Vehicle Leasing 0150-750 (999) \$0.00	Non Motor Vehicle Leasing		0155-750 (999) \$0.00