
Estimated tax is the method used to pay tax on income that is 
not subject to withholding. Wages typically have withholding, but 
earnings from self-employment, interest, dividends, rents, etc. 
would be subject to estimated tax. You might also pay estimated 
tax if your withholdings are not enough to be excluded from 
the General Rule below. If you file federal Form 1040-ES with 
the federal Internal Revenue Service (IRS), typically you would 
pay estimated tax to the Colorado Department of Revenue. 
See the individual income tax guidance publications available 
at Tax.Colorado.gov for more information.
General Rule
In most cases, you must pay estimated tax if you expect to 
owe more than $1,000 in net tax for 2021, after subtracting 
any withholding or credits you might have.
Required Payments
The required annual amount to be paid is the smaller of:

• 70% of the actual net Colorado tax liability, or
• 100% of the preceding year’s net Colorado tax liability. This 

rule only applies if the preceding year was a 12-month tax 
year, the individual filed a Colorado return, and the federal 
adjusted gross income on that return was $150,000 or less 
(or, if married filing separately, $75,000 or less), or

• 110% of the preceding year’s net Colorado tax liability. This 
amount applies only if the preceding year was a 12-month 
year, and the individual filed a Colorado return.

Annualized Installment Method
If you use an annualized method to file estimated payments 
for your federal income tax, you may file using this method for 
Colorado estimated payments. Specific instructions for the 
annualized installment method are available in publication FYI 
Income 51.
Carryforward of Estimated Overpayment
Any overpayment designated for carryforward on your Colorado 
income tax return from the previous year will be applied to the 
first estimated tax payment due for this tax period.
Calculating the Payment
Estimated tax payments can be made on a quarterly basis. Use 
the worksheet provided on the following page to calculate the 
amount of estimated tax owed. Reference the previous year 
Colorado income tax return and instructions for help determining 
taxable income. Those who file joint returns must make the 
payment under the taxpayer name and Social Security or ID 
number that will be listed first on the income tax return. Remit 
payments on or before the due dates listed in the table following 
calculation worksheet on the next page.

Penalties
Failure to timely remit estimated tax as necessary will result in 
an Estimated Tax Penalty. By law, exceptions will be given to 
farmers or fishermen who file and remit full payment by March 1. 
Otherwise, penalty will be calculated for each missed, late, or 
underpaid payment. For calculation specifics, or to remit this 
penalty before being billed, see form DR 0204, Underpayment 
of Individual Estimated Tax.
Refunds
Estimated tax payments can only be claimed as prepayment 
credit on the 2021 Colorado income tax return. Therefore, 
estimated payments cannot be refunded in any manner until 
such time that the Colorado income tax return is filed.
 

Go Green with Revenue Online
Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline allows taxpayers to file taxes, 
remit payments and monitor their tax accounts. The DR 0104EP 
is not required if electronic payment is remitted through this site. 
Please be advised that a nominal processing fee may apply to 
electronic payments.

Pay by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
EFT payments can be made safely, for free, and can be scheduled 
up to 12 months ahead of time to avoid forgetting to make a quarterly 
payment.  This requires pre-registration before payments can be 
made. Visit Colorado.gov/Revenue/EFT for registration information.

Additional information, FYI publications and forms are available 
at Tax.Colorado.gov or you can call 303-238-SERV (7378) 
for assistance.

Individual Estimated Income Tax
Instructions
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Colorado Estimated Tax – Individuals Worksheet
Do not send, keep for your records

1. Estimated 2021 Colorado taxable income $ 00

2. Estimated 2021 Colorado income tax — 4.55% of line 1 $ 00

3. Estimated 2021 Colorado alternative minimum tax $ 00

4. Estimated 2021 recapture of prior year credits $ 00

5. Total of lines 2, 3 and 4 $ 00

6. All credits other than withholding and estimated payments $ 00

7. Subtract line 6 from line 5 $ 00

8. Estimated 2021 Colorado wage or nonresident real estate withholding tax $ 00

9. Net estimated tax, subtract line 8 from line 7 $ 00

Payment 
Number Net Amount Due 2020 

Overpayment Applied Payment Due Due Dates

1 $ 00 $ 00 $ 00 April 15

2 $ 00 $ 00 $ 00 June 15

3 $ 00 $ 00 $ 00 September 15

4 $ 00 $ 00 $ 00 January 15, 2022

Round your payment to the nearest dollar. If paying by check, the amount on the check and the amount entered on the 
payment form must be the same. This will help maintain accuracy in your tax account. It is strongly recommended that 
estimated payments be remitted online at Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline or by EFT at Colorado.gov/Revenue/EFT to avoid 
problems or delays with the 2021 income tax return.
Due Dates: If the due date falls on a weekend or federal holiday, payment will be due the next business day.



DR 0104EP (11/05/20)  (0012)
Return the DR 0104EP with check or money order payable to the “Colorado Department of Revenue”. Mail payments to 
Colorado Department of Revenue, Denver, Colorado 80261-0008. These addresses and zip codes are exclusive to the 
Colorado Department of Revenue, so a street address is not required. Write your Social Security number or ITIN and 
“2021 DR 0104EP” on your check or money order. Do not send cash. Enclose, but do not staple or attach, your payment 
with this form. File only if you are making a payment of estimated tax and are unable to pay online or by EFT.

SSN or ITIN

Your Last Name

Your First Name Middle Initial

Spouse SSN or ITIN

Spouse Last Name

Spouse First Name Middle Initial

Address

 

City

State ZIP

The State may convert your check to a one-time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by 
the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may 
collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

Amount of Payment

   $
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2021 Colorado Estimated Income 
Tax Payment Form

(0012)*210104EP19999*

DO NOT CUT – Return Full Page

DO NOT CUT – Return Full Page

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM

Only return this payment form with a check or money order.
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